Sofia Municipality

Sofia Municipality

Sofia is the capital of the Republic of Bulgaria and the largest political, administrative, cultural and educational centre in the country, with a population of 1.3 million. The city is part of Sofia Municipality, divided into 24 districts. The body of local self-government is the Sofia Municipal Council.

The municipal administration covers nine sectors with different spheres of activities, one of which is “Green System, Ecology and Land Use”. Part of this area is the Climate, Energy and Air Directorate, whose functions include the preparation and monitoring of strategies and plans in the field of climate change mitigation and adaptation.

Since 2011, Sofia Municipality follows a consistent policy aimed at sustainable energy development, when the Sustainable Energy Development Plan of Sofia Municipality until 2020 was adopted. At present, the Municipality has introduced energy efficiency measures in most of the municipal buildings, but the data of the inventories of greenhouse gas emissions for 2007, 2011, 2015 and 2018 show a high share of emissions from the private building stock. This determines the need to seek new opportunities for intervention in the housing sector.

Along with achieving the set goals according to the municipality’s international commitments to cut greenhouse gas emissions by 22%, the renovation of residential buildings will reduce heating costs for residents, while increasing their living comfort and leading to a better quality of life.

Through its participation in the SHEERenov project, Sofia Municipality aims to reach more homeowners in multi-family residential buildings, introducing them to the benefits of the SHEERenov approach and assisting them in the overall process of energy renovation for their homes.


1000 Sofia, Bulgaria
33, Moskovska Str.
Tel: +359 2 904 12 99